top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

The garden has been named!

Week 15:


A rather short week, we stayed in the city for a bit longer so that we could stay a bit later and take some stuff to the dump. Soooo exciting I know - don't be jealous. There is lots of junk that needs to be taken off the farm that was collected over the years before I got here and unfortunately the job can only be done on Saturdays.


As I said, lots of junk was removed as well as cutting more limbs out of the way to make parking, since we currently park in the middle of the yard.


If I haven't said it before, let me tell you what a workout moving branches can be. I was sore for a couple of days to say the least! Ruby helped us out a bit and moved them down to the garden to be chipped.

Me and Ruby also had a little tractor therapy in the rain and got rid of the new growth as well as cleared some space to run water to the garden.

Guess what that means?!!? The garden has water! We set up a sprinkler system and it's just wonderful news as well as refreshing to play in. Jayde had a blast!

Me and the BFB (a form of a BFF) did something exciting this week and it's non-farm related.


It's been on my heart for a long time to talk about things and be able to share it with others. I wasn't sure how, but an idea came to me and I asked her if she would do it with me and she said yes!


This week we finally got it recorded and it was great! We simply just chatted and talked about the hard things. They things that people are afraid to talk about or are afraid to even admit is a part of their life. Our first chat was about it being ok to not be ok!


For so long I was not ok, (this is also something I will talk about later in another blog, but touched on it some during the chat) for so long I was afraid to talk about it. I was afraid of so much. It was a great chat and came out better than I imagine. We recorded and posted it to IGTV and I would love for you to head over and let me know what you think! Also, if you have a name for these chats, let me know as well. We would love ideas for topics as well as any other feedback you may have.


Next week I'm chicken sitting (more things I never thought I would say) for a friend and I’m so excited! This city girl has never been around chickens. I’m getting in a little practice before we get our own. I CAN NOT wait for our own animals!


I don't usually share on here about what we do on the weekends, but this weekend I did something that was very humbling and I want to share it, as well as tell you how excited it makes me the garden is so close to ready and my plans for it outside of a source of food for us. Hear me out - it all connects. 


I was blessed this weekend to be able to serve as God's hands and feed the homeless on Sunday and Church under the Bridge. They literally set up under a bridge in the downtown area to hold a small worship and church service as well as provide a lunch for the homeless. And this happens every Sunday here. Me along side of others provided the food as well as served them after the service. After this we took the leftover food to another spot were they are gathered and were able to hand out the rest of the food. After we were done and I sat in my car, all I could do was cry. It hurt to leave and not be able to do more. As I was driving he reminded me that I can do more and He has given me the space and resources to do so.

If you remember back a couple posts ago, I mentioned... I named my garden: The Giving Garden. My intention was to use it to grow food and donate to a Single Mom's Ministry that I'm very passionate about. But, guess what it doesn't have to be just for them, it can be for anyone and everyone, and that's what I want to be able to do with it! 


I'm not sure I have mentioned this here before, but this opportunity I have been given was the answer and solution to so much. This adventure has not just been soul changing, but life changing. It is something that I never knew I was missing and I thank God for it daily. I do not take it lightly that I am very fortunate and even though I have been through so much the past 6-7 years, things could have been so much worse than they were, and for that I'm grateful. I'm thankful that God has allowed this blessing in my life as well as blessing me with such an amazing Dad. He knew what he was doing when he chose my Dad that's for sure. (My Dad is another blog for another time as well, I know so many non-farm blogs coming, but hey they are apart or the reason for me being where I am today). Thank you guys for following along for yet another week!

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page