top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

Grateful for helpful friends!

Week 14:


The chipper has come out to play! One of the other things we will have on the farm are compost piles. The goal is to not have to need trash service, so we will burn the cardboard and paper products and we will compost the appropriate items. We will use wood chips from the chipper to add to the compost piles.

We cleared more land and was able to start the wood chip pile! We had outside help this week. Another guest came to the fam and wanted to do farm chores! Melinda helped A LOT with moving branches, cutting them down and even wood chipping! (More on her visit in another blog.) Who knew wood chipping was so much work?! I guess it can never be as simple as just putting the wood in. It was a lot of fun though and something I wouldn't mind doing more often. We were grateful for Melinda's help. We were able to get it done in a day instead of the couple days that it would have taken us.


I'm also grateful for friends who make the drive to come and spend time with us. She brought the cutest housewarming gifts and I can't wait to use them!

So, I used the pole saw for the first time! What an arm workout that was! I feel like I need to do some strength training just to do some of the things around here!

Of course Princess Ruby (the tractor, of course) needed some love and she got her oil changed and a new filter.

The pumpkin seeds have been started and yes I know I'm a tad late, but better late than never. Since the garden isn't 100% ready for planting, I started them in a grow kit and under grow lights. We shall see how this goes. I planted about 60 seeds, so hopefully a handful of good ones will grow. This is my first time planting anything, why not start with pumpkins?!? I will start some others in August and hopefully I will actually get to plant in the garden.

Something exciting happened with my blog this week! It was featured on Feed Spots top 40 farming blogs as number 11. Pretty cool for a new blogger!


I am extremely thankful for all the good this adventure has brought. Being able to share my journey has been so nice and I'm so grateful that people actually read it. I have met a lot of amazing people online. Everyone has such great stories and it's been so cool learning about them and from them. I have done so many things I never thought I would do or even thought I could do. And the mental and emotional effects this lifestyle has had on me is such a blessing. I'm still in awe that this is going to be my "new" life. I am truly grateful and thankful for this adventure, as well as for everyone I have met along the way and get to share this with.


I can't wait to look back in a couple of months and see how far we have come. Just the growth from when I said "yes" in April is truly amazing! Until next time - Have a blessed day!


P.S. There are always more pictures over on IG if you want to take a look!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page