top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

I just said, "I'm going into town.."

Week 2:


Not a very exciting week, it came and went very quickly. Jaylen turned 11 and I turned a year older too. Much like the previous week, there was cleaning, mowing and lots YouTube videos on how to do all the things. We spent a great deal of time spraying for wasps and knocking down their nests and putting up mosquito eradicator than I would care to admit. A lot of little work to be done before the real work can start, but boy am I ready though.


If I'm being honest I'm so impatient, I want all the things and I want them now. I have so many ideas on what I want the farm to have and what I want to be able to accomplish with it. The dreaming part of it all is so exciting, while the reality part of it not as much. But, I know over time things will start to come together and all the waiting and hard will be worth it. I can't wait to look back a year from now and see how much has changed.


I have always wanted lots of land and the opportunity to make it my own. And right now that's just what we have, a blank slate that can be transformed into our own dreams. One thing that is going to be a little different than expected, is we will be building earth bag domes, if you don't know what that is, Google it. O what an adventure that will be. We will have the normal "farm" things as well, like a garden and animals. To be honest I want all the animals, but who knows how many we will actually end up with. Right now we only have insects, lots of wasps, mosquitos and carpenter bees. And speaking of bees, I believe we will have bees for making honey at some point too.


One not so fun part of moving to the country is all the things you have to get it just for daily life. I am going to move all my stuff out here over time. Us city girls aren't prepared for country life just yet. But I do love shopping, just who knew it would be at the Tractor Supply Store though? They were having a $1.00 sale on clothes and so naturally I got a bunch because we need everything. And I mean everything, shirt, pants, boots, hats, gloves and so much more.


Those country words are strong y'all. I always hated when people said y'all, and being from Oklahoma you hear it a lot, but there's something about the country just brings the y'all out of you. Something else I never thought I would say..... "I'm going into town". That 30 mile drive to get anywhere is something I wish wasn't a thing, but I'm oddly thankful for it. I love driving with the windows down, music on and just enjoying life. The downfall though, I have to watch for those dang wild pigs and dear. And for the things I have learned this week part of the blog:

1. The girls have it way too easy, this week I introduced them to heating water on the stove and mixing it with cold water to wash the dishes by hand. Sometime we are so use to having things we forget to teach our kids what to do if it's broken or if you just don't have it. The hidden blessing in it was the quality time with their Paw Paw.

2. This is good for our souls, it has allowed us to just spend more uninterrupted time together, make new memories and to laugh more with each other.

3. Anything worth having, isn't easy.

4. Car rides are loooong with 3 kids.

5. I reckon is a word/phrase I have added to the things I say.

6. I get to add professional tick checker to my resume.


All in all, this was a good week and excited for the next time I say "I'm going into town". Additional pictures on IG, if you want to take a look.


103 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page