top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

I just went to put air in my tires....

Updated: May 15, 2020

How it all started.....


I went to my Dad's house to put air in my tire and while I was there my Dad asked me if I wanted to move to the "ranch". I believe it took me less than a minute to say yes. I'm pretty sure he kept trying to talk me out of it. Honestly, I couldn't think of a reason not to. During this time (Covid-19), life has came to a complete stop. School is online or through packets, meetings are being held online through different meeting apps and we are not suppose to be around, well anyone. Since we are stuck in the house anyway, why not be stuck on 48 acres?


Jayla would be starting high school, so starting a new school wouldn't be hard. The other two girls aren't settled into the schools they are at. Friends can still be seen every other weekend when Jayla needs to come back to OKC anyway. I haven't been able to work in awhile, so I wouldn't have a job to leave or a new one to find. Oddly, this is the easiest "yes" I have said for such a big thing.


On April 13th we took out first trip out there. There being Clarksville, Texas, population 3,159 ( as of 2018). The first night after we arrived there were tears (from the kids) and so far the only night of them. Moving is hard when you have only lived in one place your whole life. The tears soon stopped and the adventure began. No one has lived on the property in awhile, so there is a lot to get done before the fun of farming can start. There are big plans coming for crops, farm animals and earthbag domes.


The first night we took a walk around the property line to check the fences.

There are lots of trees and limbs that need to be cleared and cut down and fences to be repaired.

But, man isn't it just beautiful? In this moment I knew this was the right choice.

The first week involved a lot of cleaning and mowing.

The week went by very quickly with lots done and a lot more to do we headed back to OKC for the weekend. My Jayla turned 14 while we were there and finally got a phone, but since there isn't service at the ranch there wasn't much she could do on it, reminds me of the song Isn't It Ironic by Alanis Morissette.


The things I learned this week are:

1. The girls spend too much time needing someone else to entertain them or relying on their tablets for entertainment.

2. The girls don't go outside enough and scream every time any type of bug is around. Too much city life and not enough country.

3. The peace and quite is the most amazing sound in the world.

4. I'm pretty sure I'm a little too city for out here.

5. I have to drive 30 minutes at least to get to anything.

6. Feral pigs are a thing. And out here not a good thing. They can sure screw up some land!

7. Humidity sucks.

8. I yell at bee's for fighting.

9. Jayde was made for the country


This is going to hands down be the best decision I ever made and I hope you will join me in my farm life adventures. And all this because I needed air for my tires. I will post more pictures on IG if you want to check them out.






306 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page