top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

It finally happened, my first injury.

Week 12


The fuel injection pump is re-installed and the tractor is running again! But wait, we have to fix a flat tire again! If it's not one thing it's another around here. Fix-a-flat to the rescue! I’m happy to report it has not gone flat since.


Now that the tractor is in commission again it's time to get ready for guests. Time to bush hog! 


In true Jackie fashion, I got hurt today and not in a normal way. It was me and the tractor vs. the pear tree. I cleared this same tree branch 3 times and then for some reason the next time I went the other direction and didn't have the same luck. I was just riding along and all of a sudden there is a branch in my face, around my arm and behind me! I managed to get it off of me and only had minor injuries. It knocked one of my headphones completely off, hit my chest and left scrapes on my arm. I finally finished and get off for my Dad to say, “you sure were lucky, it should have been worse.” Well thanks, that only went through my head about 20 million times while I was finishing. I made him finish under the trees - I was done for the day!

Week 13


I'm so excited to have our first guests join us!


My friend Sarah and her boys came down from Oklahoma City. I will leave all the exciting details of their visit for another blog. But, it was a lot of fun and she brought me my first house warming gift: a fire pit!

After all the fun was had and they left and the hard work began again. All the land for my garden is finally cleared!! It took 1 month and 2 days to complete. There was bush hogging, post and trellis removal, tree pulling and tree chopping. But, with 2 of us we got it done and I'm so stinking proud!

Before After


I used an axe y'all and I chopped down a tree! Now of course there is not picture, because I chopped down the tree. I felt just so proud of myself, even though it was just one and I was done after that. I still did it! If you know the medical issues I have had the past 3 years, you understand the magnitude of this accomplishment. (One of the days will explain my 3 year medical journey, but until then enjoy the farm life excitement) Long story short, less than a year ago I couldn't even get off of my couch and now I'm chopping down trees - okay, well, a tree!


Next up to get the garden ready for planting! We need run water out to the corner of the garden for the drip hose irrigation. We also need to set up the electric fence and run power to it to keep out the animals. I already got the bird netting and seeds, we are so close!


On one of the other lists of many things to start and do is the compost pile. We pulled the wood chipper out and got it all cleaned off. And would have guessed, I cut myself on the water?!? Yup, the water. Because I'm the reason we can't have nice things. I was trying to clean my hands off with the power washer (yes I know bad idea) but, I was barely pressing it in hopes it would lightly come out. Not so much, now I was a nice little cut in my hand. Guess that's what I get for being lazy! 

The girls helped with the power washing as well and had a blast (pun intended)! Someone got a little dirty. But, a little dirt never hurt!

Hopefully, the power washer isn't something else we have to fix too. We are going to chip all the trees we just pulled and chopped down so we can add them to help make the compost. I’m super excited to get all that started. I'm really tired of taking all the trash back with us on the weekend. All food like materials will go to be composted, all paper like material is burned and the plastic is all that is left to figure out. I would really like some ideas in that area, so please share! I'm going to start ordering the toilet paper with out rolls and paper towels (I know, not plastic, but this is an example of what kind of ideas I need) Whatever ideas you have that creates less trash, I need more re-usable items. Send me all the links!


This week instead of what I learned, I'm doing all the animals that live by the house:

  1. We have the cutest racoon family, they like to climb the pear tree and throw pears, as well as eat them.

  2. There's the vulture family, they only get included because I have to listen to the baby in the tree until the parents come back to feed it, and it's pretty cool watch feeding time.

  3. The armadillo! (Bob is not a fan) Mr. Armadillo likes to take his pointy little face and make holes all over the yard.

That'll do for this one, thank you guys for joining me on this journey, it means a lot that you take the time out of your day to read these. As always there are more pictures on IG if you want to take a look. Have a blessed week!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page