top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

Tractor Therapy!

Week 6 & 7 were spent in Oklahoma City, taking care of somethings.


Week 8:


Y'all I really want a garden! I feel like an impatient little kid. But, thankfully this week we were able to start the process, even though there is still so much to do before I can plant. I have found where I want it to be and got the tractor and bush hog out and started bush hogging. I want it to be about 100 x 100 square feet. I have never grown anything, so naturally I need to go really big, because that's just what I do. I'm going to try the no till way because, why not?!? I'm going to start with some pumpkins. I love Halloween and I want to be able to have all the pumpkins to carve and to decorate with. Depending on how many I can actually get, I will give away a bunch, too.

Otay, so I really need to talk about tractor therapy and how this should be a thing everyone can do. The best time I have spent so far on the farm, has been on the tractor (BTW tractor needs a name, any ideas?). Being up on the seat, the sound, the smell, the air, the sun, the ride itself, IT IS SO needed. It's mind clearing, relaxing and therapeutic. Almost like being in your own world. If only there was a way everyone could rent a tractor and just ride around for an hour, I promise it would be the best money you have ever spent! I'm a firm believer in therapy and talking about your feelings to at least someone (my PSA for the day).

This week was minimal fixing things and lots of tractor riding and bush hogging with a side of finding fence lines and posts. Those kind hogs ran through the fences and pulled the line so naturally the grass and stuff grew over it.


It didn't take me long to get the tractor stuck for the first time. Not in mud, but between 2 "trees". Didn’t know that was possible? Well, I have a knack for doing the impossible. And it wasn't THAT stuck, just not something I could get out of on my own. One of these days I will be experienced enough to get out myself (or not get it stuck to begin with).


Mail Time: We got our first package on the farm. Thank you Traci! They worked great - I used them during Tractor Therapy. They helped keep to keep sweat out of my eyes and to keep cool.

Now, for the things I learned portion:

  1. People have a hard time leaving things how they found them

  2. Humidity sucks (knew that, but still true).

  3. Even though you have done something once, you can totally scare yourself out from doing it again. I was scared to get back on the tractor, I made myself believe I couldn't do it. Between getting it in gear and moving and getting the bush hog going, there is a lot of steps. I'm also bigger than my fears, so there's that.

  4. Tractors are rough. There should be a warning: hours of riding will equal soreness. Now, I'm sure the "newer" tractors might not have the same outcome, but this old one does. I got off after 2 hours straight and I could hardly walk.

  5. Snakes don't scare me when I'm on something with tires that makes them disappear. (sorry snake loving friends)

  6. Tractors are good for the soul. So is sunshine.

  7. How to grease a tractor. There are so many spots!

I'm losing the tick battle, I was doing so good until this week - Final count: 7. No one else, just me. Jayde had one the first week and none since then. I even wear a hat and long sleeves and I find them in my shirt and everywhere else.


But, on a more exciting note, I saw so many animals this week. My excitement reminds me I have been in the city for too long (my Dad is never as excited). Usually when we drive into town if you see something. It’s a deer! On this particular drive within 30 seconds or so of leaving the farm we saw a hog and her piglets, a couple seconds later an armadillo, then an owl ( I have never seen an owl that wasn’t at the zoo). Maybe 15 second later 6 chickens and then a bunny. Much better than ticks if you ask me! My favorite was the frog that came along for a tractor ride.

I’m looking forward to working on the garden some more next week. Thank you for being a part of this journey with us - more pictures on IG if you want to check them out.


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page