top of page
Search
  • thejsfarm

Trees, Tires and Ticks oh my!

Week 9


Anyone else have more chainsaws than they do hands? Apparently you need one you can get dirty, one that extends and then another one for looks I guess. How are you supposed to not get it "dirty"?!?

This week was spent cutting down branches in the path of the tractor and moving branches that were cut down. Nothing like moving branch after branch to remind you how out of shape you are!

Next on the list, pulling trees from my garden area. But first, let's get a flat tire, because we have nothing else to do right?! And of course let's be in the field when it happens so we can roll the tire all the way to the house and then back because we didn't get a good enough workout moving branches! Let's add tire rolling to our workout session! I called in a kid to help take it back out! Also, lets add a fuel leak somewhere into the mix. The parts haven't come in yet so take a gander at the temporary fix (smh).

Let the tree pulling begin! 23 trees, 2 breaks and 6 hours later we are done. Another nice workout from moving all the trees. But, on a good note I have a cleared area to start planting my garden! Now we just need to put up a fence to keep the animals out and then the planting can start.

The battle against the ticks this week was in my favor - only one! We also got another swing put up. Next to find a place for the hammock to go. We need to find the right hammock. Please share any hammock recommendation you have (can be a freestanding one as well).

For the what I learned portion:

  1. There are too many different tools that serve the same purpose, I'm sure there is a reason but still.

  2. The well water here smells like rotten eggs, while I found that out day one, I still forget until I turn on the water again.

  3. There is more than one type of jack, who knew (see number 1).

  4. For some reason I freak out when driving the tractor in reverse.

  5. All about no till gardening, I have never even planted the "traditional" way, so we shall see how this goes.

  6. The farming/AG community is amazing. They are so passionate about what they do and they love sharing that passion with others.

This week wasn't too busy, but major progress was made. Looking forward to getting the fences up and things planted! If you would be interested in watching the garden process from start to finish let me know - I'm thinking of putting a video together. Until next time, have a blessed day!

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page